A Guide to Religions, Religious Information and Help in Search for God

Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments were given by God to Moses at Mount Sinai and form the basic component of God's covenant with Israel. These commandments appear in two places in both the Torah (Hebrew/Israeli Bible) and Holy Bible (Christian Bible): Exodus 20:1-17 and Deuteronomy 5:6-21. The phrasing is very similar, but not identical.

The following are the Ten Commandments from the Christian Holy Bible (Revised Standard Version by the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A. in 1971) :

1) "I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. You shall have no other gods before me."

2) "You shall not make for yourself a graven image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them or serve them; for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and the fourth generation if those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments."

3) "You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain."

4) "Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labour, and do all your work; but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord you God; in it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your manservant, or your maidservant, or your cattle, or the sojourner who is within your gates; for in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day; therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.

5) "Honour your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land which the Lord your God gives you."

6) "You shall not kill."

7) "You shall not commit adultery."

8) "You shall not steal."

9) "You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour."

10) "You shall not covet your neighbour's house; you shall not covet your neighbour's wife, or his manservant, or his maidservant, or his ox, or his ass, or anything that is your neighbour's."


Every version of the Holy Bible has God's commandment "You shall not KILL.". However, the Hebrew/Israeli Torah incorrectly translates their God's commandment "You shall not KILL." into "You shall not MURDER."

The Roman Catholic and Lutheran traditions combine commandments #1 and #2 to prohibit idolatry and split commandment #10 into two commandments to separately prohibit coveting your neighbour's wife and prohibit coveting your neighbour's goods.

Ten Commandments (for a Buddhist monk)

1) Kill no living thing.

2) Accept nothing that is not given willingly.

3) Live in absolute moral purity.

4) Speak only the truth.

5) Touch no animal food or alcohol.

6) Eat only at prescribed times.

7) Abstain from all unnecessary contacts with the world.

8) Wear no ornament.

9) To avoid all luxury.

10) Live always in voluntary poverty.


About Us   |   Contact Us   |   FAQ's   |   Links   |   Privacy   |   Terms of Use

Site created on 12/21/2004   |   This page was last updated on 06/07/2007

COPYRIGHT 2004-2007   •   John Chin   •   ALL RIGHTS RESERVED was designed by 7 SITES CORP.